Schedule a Case Evaluation
Zealous Attorney Defending Against First-Offense DWI Charges
It’s only your first drunk driving offense, so it’s no big deal if you plead guilty. Right?
A single DWI conviction can lead to immediate, lasting consequences. For instance, it can cause you the loss of your freedom and driving privileges. It can cost you a lot of money. And it can make an even bigger impact on you should you be unfortunate enough to face a second or subsequent impaired driving charge.
Do not surrender yourself to these consequences. Fight.
I am criminal defense attorney Murad Mohammad. I have spent more than a decade defending clients against all levels of DWI charges. I know what it takes to fight these charges on both the administrative and administrative fronts.
Criminal Penalties and Administrative Sanctions for a First Offense DWI
Minnesota’s criminal system penalizes everyone who drinks and drives, including those who have an otherwise clean record. Those penalties include:
- Up to 90 days in jail for misdemeanor
- Up to 1 year in jail for a gross misdemeanor, which occurs with an elevated BAC level, where a child is in the car, or in the event of a blood alcohol test refusal
- Up to $1,000 fine for a misdemeanor
- Up to $3,000 for a gross misdemeanor
Unbeknownst to most first-timers, however, there are multiple administrative penalties that crop up outside of the courtroom. Those potentially include:
- Immediate license suspension, lasting up to 90 days, for a misdemeanor
- Immediate license suspension, lasting 1 year, for a gross misdemeanor
- Impounded license plates and vehicle forfeiture if a child was in the car at the time of the offense
Additional, collateral consequences will also crop up in the event of a DWI conviction, first or otherwise. This includes difficulties in obtaining employment, housing and student loans. These consequences can prove even more devastating for individuals under 21.
You Can Fight This. Learn How in a Free, Confidential Consultation.
There are many ways to defend against a first DWI charge, including investigating the validity of the traffic stop to challenging the results of the breathalyzer equipment. Learn about these options and more by scheduling your confidential, no-cost consultation with me. You can reach me via phone at 651.283.5324 or you can email my Minnesota defense firm.