Schedule a Case Evaluation
DWIs and Driver’s License Revocation in Minnesota
Even if this is the first time you have been charged with DWI, you are subject to an automatic driver’s license revocation. This is an administrative action initiated by the state in every DWI case, and it is completely separate from the criminal case against you.
You only have a short period of time following a DWI arrest in which to challenge this administrative action and avoid an automatic revocation of your driving privileges.
I am Murad Mohammad. As your lawyer, I may be able to help you get the automatic suspension waived—at least until your criminal case is resolved. This will enable you to keep driving while you make other transportation arrangements in the event a suspension or revocation is unavoidable.
The important point here: Don’t wait. Contact me about your DWI arrest today.
“How long will my revocation last?”
In Minnesota, drivers’ license penalties vary according to the results of blood alcohol tests and the number of prior DWI or alcohol-related driving convictions.
On a first offense, for example, the state statute mandates a 90-day revocation. If there was no traffic accident involved and your blood-alcohol content (BAC) registered below .16, however, you may be able to secure a limited license. That license will allow you to begin driving again (on a limited basis) after only 15 days.
To reinstate your license, you will be required to:
- Pay a $680 reinstatement fee
- Take (and pass) a DWI knowledge test
- Submit a new driver’s license application, with fee
- Pass a chemical health assessment
Let Me Help You Limit these Consequences and Keep Your Privileges
Whatever your situation, I understand how important your driving privileges are to you. I will do everything I can to get you back on the road again as soon as possible.
Email my Twin Cities law firm or call me today at 651.283.5324. The consultation is free, and the help I can offer may make a tremendous difference in the outcome of your case.