Schedule a Case Evaluation
Dedicated Defense Against Criminal Sexual Conduct Charges
Anyone convicted of the crime of criminal sexual conduct, often referred to as rape, is labeled a sex offender. That person is then treated like a leper in today’s society.
Even individuals facing charges for a sex offense like criminal sexual conduct is treated with disdain. It seems no one is willing to wait until the innocent are proven guilty.
I will stand you with during this difficult time. I will fight for you.
I am Minneapolis defense attorney Murad Mohammad. I have spent the past 10 years aggressively advocating for the rights of clients facing all variety of crime in the Minnesota judicial system. I have built a strong reputation for taking care of my clients and getting results.
The Varying Degrees of Criminal Sexual Conduct
State law splits criminal sexual conduct into five separate degrees of offense. The specific offense that prosecutors will pursue against you depends on multiple factors, including the type of conduct involved, the age of the complainant, and the relationship between the complainant and the defendant.
For instance, crimes involving complainants younger than 13 will carry harsher penalties than crimes involving adults. Additionally, familial relationships will alter the length of prison time in many instances.
Here are the general consequences of the four felony-level degrees of criminal sexual conduct (CSC):
- First-degree criminal sexual conduct will result in up to 30 years in prison and up to $40,000 in fines.
- Second-degree criminal sexual conduct will result in up to 25 years in prison and up to $35,000 in fines.
- Third-degree criminal sexual conduct will result in up to 15 years in prison and up to $30,000 in fines.
- Fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct will result in up to 10 years in prison and up to $20,000 in fines.
Criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree is a gross misdemeanor. Consequences of a conviction here are up to a year in prison and a fine up to $3,000. Fifth-degree CSC can amount to a felony; however, if you are convicted of a second or subsequent offense within a seven-year period.
Pursuing the Right Defenses in Your Case
Minnesota statutes make it very clear that you cannot defend yourself in cases involving minors on the basis of not knowing the complainant’s actual age or that the complainant consented to the contact. But there are several other defenses that we can pursue in an effort to get your charges dismissed or secure a not guilty verdict. Let me walk you through those defenses so we can craft a case strategy that protects your rights, your freedom and your future.
Call Me for a Free, Confidential Consultation
When you want nonjudgmental, dedicated legal representation, turn to me. I’m here to help.
Take advantage of my free initial consultation offer today. Call me at 651.283.5324 or contact my law firm online. Located in Minneapolis, I am available to represent clients across the Twin Cities metro area and throughout Minnesota.